Holiday? Think again!

It takes a little bit to get settled into travelling. Many see travelling as glamorous but it’s hard work. It’s no holiday! That would be when your arrangements are all ready-made, and finding your next meal easy.

Each night, I do some reading and research to figure out where I shall go the next day. And there is planning for buses, trains, ferries, etc. How did we do this before wifi in our rooms?!

I landed in Europe on Sunday morning and it took me the rest of the day to get to my destination – Gozo, a smaller island of Malta. Today is Tuesday and I am starting to settle. I leave Thursday early to battle once again with schedules of only hourly buses and the ferry, and an airline whose only profit is when they can fine you for something. So I have to ship my second month’s worth of supplies. I thought I did pretty good at 17kg, but not only did it nearly do me in wearing it on my back, it’s 2kg more than it is allowed to be.

Even more tough is learning to use a digital camera and tablet for the first time. It’s a nightmare. I am also learning to measure plant stress with a brix refractometer and an infra-red temperature gun. My refractometer gets pulled at the xray machine everytime – a musical instrument mouthpiece? It was also swabbed for illegal drugs.

So, here I am in Malta. Their favourite expression here is blah-blah-blah. Maybe Maltese are more authentic and see through all the blah-blah-blah! Don’t talk about the EU. It’s all blah-blah-blah!

Small plot agriculture

Small plot agriculture

About Kaytlyn Dale

#nuffield13 scholar passionate about sacred agriculture and holding space for transforming ourselves so that we can help regenerate the land, soil, Earth and our food system. Pursuing an MA that brings spirituality and agriculture together in the conversation.
This entry was posted in Nuffield Scholarship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

