An Italian Easter

All of a sudden, people are everywhere! Its Easter Sunday in Italy, and after a miserable wet day yesterday, there is not a cloud in the sky today. From completely vacant streets, Italians have emerged from their cold damp stone homes to feel the warmth of the sun.

Image

Sister Lynn and niece Julie

Sister Lynn and niece Julie

I am here visiting my sister on their Easter break. My brother-in-law is partaking in a European sailing regtta. Due to yesterdays weather, they did not get to race, so today they are playing catch up. My camera is amazing. The sail boats below are a long way out. This photo is great!

On the topic of technology, I flew over here as a proud Canadian Blackberry user, especially because I only live an hour away from the Blackberry company, RIM. Most of Malta uses them. The smartphones are popular over here. The Blackberry Playbook is a piece of junk. I cannot blog on it and that is what I bought it for. I have spent hours battling with my playbook. RIM, you have let me down big time.

sailing regattaI am not able to get out and savour agriculture here unfortunately. I miss the easy walks of Gozo. The big difference that I have noticed so far is that farm stands sell freshly pressed olive oil. And artichokes are in season. We went to a farmers market, and I have been enjoying thermal baths, medieval villages and fine meals instead of agriculture! Back to work soon!

Italian market

So many cheeses and deli meats!

Spending the day with Margot, also here for the sailing, from Montreal!

Spending the day with Margot, also here for the sailing, from Montreal!
About Kaytlyn Dale

#nuffield13 scholar passionate about sacred agriculture and holding space for transforming ourselves so that we can help regenerate the land, soil, Earth and our food system. Pursuing an MA that brings spirituality and agriculture together in the conversation.
This entry was posted in Nuffield Scholarship and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

