One Month Travelling

I left Canada on March 23. Spring has burst forth here in the last couple of days. I am sorry I will miss this at home. Or will I? Last weekend, the tv antenna beside my house came down in an ice storm, and part of a tree lay on the roof. Yikes! I actually had wanted the tv antenna removed, but that was a bit dramatic!

So today, I reflect on the things I look forward to when I get home. These are the trivial things that I miss, not my dear friends and of course, dogs. I miss you all very much.

– Oh my goodness, I miss Canadian toilet paper! I use it as kleenex too at home, but here, I would get a sore nose if I did that, not to mention the other place. Unfortunately, I have created the perception of the delicate Canadian bottom! Trust me to accomplish that! LOL!

– I miss what I call my alpha time – the time in the morning to experience quiet while the brain´s waves are still alpha, rather than beta (the busy-ness, including thinking about everything that needs to be accomplished). This includes coffee from my own french press, sitting in the Eastern sun, on my park bench.

– Fried eggs in butter or coconut oil. I´ll admit I had this for the first time this morning since leaving Canada, but I am not able to flip them in the air like at home in my pan!

– Gluten-free beer. I would really enjoy a cold beer!

– My car – OhImage I miss my freedom!  Not having my car has meant trusting others and yes, giving up control. Perhaps this has been my hardest challenge (not lesson, because I doubt I am learning about giving up control). 🙂  Cars can also function as homes on wheels, where you can spread out a bit, maybe even hang some clothes!

– Conversing in English when I am out in public and asking simple questions. The language barrier has been extreme, and I look forward to France, where I will be able to communicate in French. Everywhere I look, I can only see letters, not messages.

– My beautiful maple tree which keeps me shaded in the summer.

– The ease of getting out in nature …. my camping place is calling me!

– My wardrobe and different things to chose from. I did not bring much considering I had to pack for all 4 seasons and carry it on my back. I am only just getting out from under layers of clothing.

– Organization! Living out of a suitcase is really hard. I am forever routing around looking for something! I can´t wait for everything to be in its place again.

– My computer – this Mac is driving me crazy. I have never used one before. Worst part is that it speaks German. I have also used a Hungarian computer, but at least, despite the funny looking words, the menus were still the same. Both Hungarian and German have different alphabets. I have now seen Google in Maltese, Italian, Hungarian and German. And we’ve already talked about my playbook, which was supposed to be my computer while I travelled – thanks for nothing RIM. While charging, it opens and closes apps all by itself and highlights sentences and types things into my files. Truly amazing, infuriating and very disappointing.

I never thought I would travel like this again. Thank you Nuffield Canada! But, wow do I ever feel like a spec in time nobody. Where am I really? It does not look too different here, green highway signs, bridges and buildings, trees and grass look the same ….. My body is in Eastern Europe; my stress level/ anxiety- up there; my mind- trying to find a green meadow where it is quiet, like a cell phone looking for the nearest tower; my soul- seeking!

About Kaytlyn Dale

#nuffield13 scholar passionate about sacred agriculture and holding space for transforming ourselves so that we can help regenerate the land, soil, Earth and our food system. Pursuing an MA (Theology) in Spiritual Care & Psychotherapy
This entry was posted in Nuffield Scholarship, Thoughts from the Road of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

