My Oasis in an Ocean of Field Crops

My farmhouse in the north part of Huron County, Ontario

My farmhouse in the north part of Huron, Ontario

Where’s the food? or even the beef?! I rent a couple of acres surrounded by acres and acres of corn, soya beans and grains. These are very successful farmers, but where is the food if I should not be able to find any at the grocery store? One summer, it could only be found in my little garden. And that is why I have named this place I call home ‘the little green oasis’. From the air in Spring, it is a small patch of green in so much brown, when it isn’t under snow.

Saying Good bye - Thank you Maple!

Saying Good bye – Thank you Maple!

It is time for me to say goodbye to this place and move on. I am only moving a couple of kilomeres away and I will miss the large maple tree that became my friend, that provided me shade on hot summer days and a place where I felt sheltered to grieve (see earlier blog).

I appreciate this place for all that it has shown me about big ag, opening me up to the realities of farming today. It has helped me appreciate the life of a farmer in another way, even though not my way.

When a farmer gets up in the morning, they have a job to do and they go about their day like everyone else. However, they have so much criticism coming their way. And so, for those of you who have issues about some farming practices, you are pointing your finger at the wrong people and should perhaps look at the direction of your other 3 fingers. Buy local, buy direct and buy only food when you know where it comes from – this is being responsible.

Crops being harvested in the fall beside my oasis

Crops being harvested in the fall beside my oasis

On the other hand…. I hope one day, more farmers will stop to ask, as they climb up onto their tractor to start their day; ‘Why am I doing this task?’ and not simply just doing it because ‘that’s the way my Dad did it.’

I usually start my talks with this story: A father and his daughter are in the kitchen preparing the evening meal. Dad pulls the roasting pan out of the oven. Surrounding the boneless blade eye roast (Ontario beef of coarse, but I can’t remember if it is corn fed or grass fed), the pot is filled with carrots and potatoes and other vegetables. As the daughter looks at this great feast, she notice’s the roast has been cut in two: a bigger piece and a smaller piece cut off the end. She asks her father why he has cut the end off the roast. “That’s the way my mother showed me how to cook a roast,” was his response.

pot-roastNext day, the daughter calls her grandmother, “Grandma, why do you cut off the end of a roast of beef when you cook it?”  “Darling, that’s the way my mother showed me how to cook a roast of beef.” The daughter was still not satisfied with this answer. Fortunately, Great Grandma was still around so she called her and asked: “Great Grandma, why do you cut off the end of a roast of beef when you cook it?” and to that she replied: “Oh darling, the roast wouldn’t fit into my pot.”

Be the change!

We are called to be the change. And in the meantime, I am signing off until I have settled again in my new place. Thank you for following and please do your part, Gayl

About Kaytlyn Dale

#nuffield13 scholar passionate about sacred agriculture and holding space for transforming ourselves so that we can help regenerate the land, soil, Earth and our food system. Pursuing an MA that brings spirituality and agriculture together in the conversation.
This entry was posted in Agriculture 3.0, Call for Change in Agriculture, Consumer Action, Healthy Rural Communities, Nuffield Scholarship, Saving the Small Farm, Self-Sufficiency, Self-Reliance and Community Agriculture, Thoughts from the Road of Life, True Transformation for Agriculture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Oasis in an Ocean of Field Crops

  1. Harris Ivens says:

    Gayl!

    You are on fire! My inbox is drowning! I’ll get to all your awesome posts soon..

    I hope this means you’re back at it and fully recovered! I am! (97%)

    cheers, Harris

    On Fri, Mar 14, 2014 at 8:05 AM, Reclaiming the Miracle of Food and Farming

Leave a Reply

