Food and Farming in Transylvania

I am busy writing up my study report for my Nuffield Scholarship. I have shut the world out and am allowing myself time to reminisce, as well as process far too many ideas. Transylvania was such a wonderful and mind opening experience, and it exposed many of the possibilities for the future of agriculture, Ag3.0.

transylvania - farming around village_sqI stumbled on this great article that explains better than I can, what is so special about Transylvania, and why I suffered such a culture shock when I left. See my earlier post.

Eternal Terrain: Transylvania | SAVEUR.
Ancient ways of living and eating thrive in the Transylvanian countryside
By Alexander Lobrano

Here is an excerpt:

I set off for Transylvania along with my friend Nadine. We arrived at Miklósvár, a village about three and a half hours north of Bucharest and an ancestral seat of the Kálnoky family, just as the cows were coming home. Around a bend by the church, the wide main street was suddenly filled with the caramel-colored herd returning from the pasture that surrounds the village. Miklósvár’s denizens, who were sitting on wooden benches outside their pastel-painted cottages to gab with neighbors while watching the event that marks the end of each day, couldn’t help but be politely amused when our car was surrounded by the lowing beasts. When I caught the eye of an old man wearing a shaggy sheepskin vest, he smiled and shrugged, his friendly way of telling me what everyone in Transylvania seems to know: If some things can’t be hurried, most others shouldn’t be either.

I hope I can return soon.

About Kaytlyn Dale

#nuffield13 scholar passionate about sacred agriculture and holding space for transforming ourselves so that we can help regenerate the land, soil, Earth and our food system. Pursuing an MA that brings spirituality and agriculture together in the conversation.
This entry was posted in Agriculture 3.0, Self-Sufficiency, Self-Reliance and Community Agriculture, Transylvania and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food and Farming in Transylvania

  1. Wally Doerksen says:

    Looking forward to your presentation at the AGM.

Leave a Reply

